Red Alert Politics has officially merged with the Washington Examiner

The 16 GOP Senators who stopped a gun control bill filibuster

Sorry folks, it looks like there won’t be a gun control filibuster in the Senate today after all!

Sixteen Republican Senators, including those that we mentioned in yesterday’s list, voted with the Democrats on the cloture vote to end debate on the Senate gun bill earlier this morning. The final vote was 68-31 in favor of ending the debate.

Below is a list of those Senators who broke from conservatives on the cloture vote.

Sen. Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.)

Lamar Alexander

Sen. Kelly Ayotte (R-N.H.)

Kelly Ayotte

Sen. Richard Burr (R-N.C.)

Richard Burr

Sen. Saxby Chambliss  (R-Ga.)


Sen. Tom Coburn (R-Okla.)


Sen. Susan Collins (R-Maine)

Susan Collins

Sen. Bob Corker (R-Tenn.)

Corker-020907-18332- 0025

Sen. Jeff Flake (R-Ariz.)

Jeff Flake

Sen. Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.)

Lindsey Graham

Sen. Dean Heller (R-Nev.)

Dean Heller

Sen. John Hoeven (R-N.D.)

John Hoeven

Sen. Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.)

Johnny Isakson

Sen. Mark Kirk (R-Ill.)

Mark Kirk

Sen. John McCain (R-Ariz.)

John McCain

Sen. Pat Toomey (R-Pa.)

Pat Toomey

Sen. Roger Wicker (R-Miss.)

Roger Wicker

It should also be noted that Sens. Mark Begich (D-Alaska) and Mark Pryor (D-Ark.) voted against cloture. Democratic Sen. Frank Lautenberg of New Jersey did not vote.

Latest Videos